The Mis-Education…

My world it moves so fast today
The past it seems so far away
And life squeezes, so tightly that I can’t breathe

And every time I’ve tried to be
What someone else thought of me
So caught up I wasn’t able to achieve

But deep in my heart
The answer, it was in me
And I made up my mind
To define my own destiny

(some of the lyrics to the Miseducation of Lauryn Hill)

No one is perfect, I’m sure we all know that. For those who believe they personify perfection think again, it’s impossible for anyone to do let alone strive for.

My past self struggled like Lauryn Hill does in the song with defining myself, I wanted to be what everyone else thought I should be. I thought that becoming that person would lead me to ultimately find happiness and peace within myself. Of course I was wrong, I’m incapable of being anyone but me, flaws and all. You can go mad trying to keep up the façade and charade of being someone just for the sake of making others happy. You will also lose yourself in the process if you’re successful in the attempt. YOU have to realize your self-worth is exactly that YOURS. No one has the right to tell you what YOUR success is, what makes YOUR accomplishments worthy of praise. Self-degradation and self loathing aren’t an option.

What I and you can do is be the best us that we can possible be, no filter, and no reservations, trust and believe in yourself the answers will come and so will happiness and peace.

