Marriage

Two Platinum or Silver Rings - Reflected Candles

Marriage is a legal, or socially binding contract between spouses that establishes rights and obligations between them, their children and their families.

I was told by my husband that I was the “Michael Jordan” or our union, some people would take that as a compliment but in a relationship of any kind one person being the “super star” could spell disaster. He wants the ball and has a shot but I won’t give it to him because it’s an easy lay up for me, but like the cliché says there is no I in team. And if I want our union to last beyond our ten years I’m going to have to learn to “pass the ball”. If I don’t then what is his purpose?

But what does that mean? All I know how to do is take care of me, I’ve done it for so long with no emotional or physical help from anyone that it seems like a foreign concept to me. What if I pass the ball and he misses the shot? Then what? I’m a doer, I get things done, I don’t know how to pull back the reigns and let someone do for me.

I honestly don’t know how to not be in control, and the thought of giving up the smallest percentage frightens me. I love my husband and can’t imagine my life without him, but how can you unlearn years of strength and self-preservation born out of having no other choice but to do it on your own, because all you had is you.

Hopefully he has the patience to understand like I do that, he’s a work in progress and I am as well. There is no such thing as the perfect relationship but if you love and work hard enough damn near is better than nothing.

T

2 thoughts on “Marriage

Comments are closed.