Why I broke up with YouTube

no_youtube

I can honestly say in the beginning I had an extremely unhealthy relationship with YouTube, I created my account about five years ago when I entered my natural hair journey. Scouring channels for information on how to care for my hair properly without the use of harsh chemicals. To my surprise there was an abundance of well versed vloggers on the topic, some useful most not. To my surprise the most popular natural hair vloggers where the curly haired non kinky vloggers which I had nothing in common with. My hair texture is basically soft wool with a hint of a zig zag and you can only see a zig or zag when I manipulate it.
I was in LOVE with YouTube, I could get beauty and hair tips all in one place for FREE at that. So how could something so good and free ultimately end in a break up?

Well I started noticing the tide change with most of the vloggers I subscribed to, it started to become less about informing the viewer and more about product placement, advertisements and paid sponsorship. unbeknownst to me I had become a means to an end, and that end being money. With the right amount of subscribers and popularity YouTube can become a big money maker. Now I’m not hating anyones hustle at all, get in where you fit in and make your money the best way you know how, but try to have some integrity and honesty.

You have beauty/natural hair vloggers trying to sell you on some shit just because they’re being paid to do it, not because the products are good/great products. So now its less about information and more about trying to sell me on your lifestyle because the more sponsored videos created the more money you make. And honestly it doesn’t cost me a thing to watch these videos, but if I wanted a commercial I’d turn on the television.

This is basically the reason why I broke up with YouTube, and the reason why I haven’t posted any content to my own channel. I don’t want to become one of those people I used to love watching who is consumed with clicks and subscribers in order to get paid or gifted free shit.

Now there are a few YouTubers I do frequent because their content speaks to me, either in a comical way or in a powerful uplifting way.

Kidfury

Joulezy

KatBlacque

MyNaturalsistas

ShamelessMaya

TheSkorpionShow

FunkyDineva

Sometimes some of these individuals put it out there that they are “selling” something but they are honest about it, no smoke and mirrors, but most of the time it’s just some good entertainment without me feeling like a means to an end. Even if that is the case I don’t feel like it is.

T

One thought on “Why I broke up with YouTube

  1. I love youtube but yeah, there are many people on there now who are just trying to sell something (but not admitting it). I loved your videos (awesome and funny), but I completely understand your decision. I’d been thinking about doing youtube videos for a long time, but so many things just got in the way… mostly my lack of direction for a video in general, and friends arguing about what the objectives were.

Comments are closed.