The Nice vs. The Angry Black Woman Stereotype

Jouelzy

4 thoughts on “The Nice vs. The Angry Black Woman Stereotype

  1. I love that quote: “If you start thinking about being likable, you are not going to tell your story honestly.” It’s very true, and it’s been my experience every time.

    1. That quote stood out for me too, but I have to say sometimes it means being a loner, people definitely misunderstand confidence and self assurance with arrogance and a feeling of superiority. But I guess that’s their problem.

      1. Yeah, that’s (unfortunately) for sure. There have been many times where I’ve weighed (in my head) which was more important at the moment – being confident and honest, or staying in the good graces of a social circle. Ugh, “arrogance”, I’ve heard that word many times.

Comments are closed.