Random Thoughts: Compliment or Naw?

random-thoughts-logo-sq-turq1

I’m not one to shy away from a compliment especially when I’m feelin myself, I’m feelin myself, I’m feelin my!, but have you ever received a compliment that almost made you respond “bitch did you just shade me?”.  I’ve received them quite often as of late.

So here’s the thing I wear wigs at work because honestly my choice of hairstyle currently is IMO not corporate friendly (shaved perimeter with locs on top). So I have three different wigs I switch between, one straight, curly and wavy.  So my co-worker says, “I really like your hair, today”, I’m sure she didn’t mean anything by it, but the insertion of the word “today” made me think damn as opposed to what bitch?

Another instance, I’m on the train making my way to work and this man who I don’t think I’ve seen before, but then again I don’t pay anyone any mind on the train so who knows, says to me “You look very nice, today”. I replied thank you, but I wanted to say “N-word you don’t know me!”, but I’m sure that would have made me look a tab bit cray.

Like why can’t people just end the compliment without adding the word “today”, it’s like you’re trying to let me know on the sly that I didn’t try the day before. And if that is indeed the case, why you sweatin me homie? Sometimes I don’t want to put forth the effort because I probably didn’t want to get my ass out the bed in the first place to go to work.

Like damn CAN I LIVE!

T

One thought on “Random Thoughts: Compliment or Naw?

  1. I think I know how you feel… it does always feel like a back-handed compliment when someone tacks what could be a conditional onto the end of it. “Compliments” like that always leave me feeling like, “Today? What did I do wrong yesterday?” I’ve gotten things like, “That dress looks great on you, even though you’re short.” or “I didn’t think that would look so nice on you.” It’s stuff like this that makes me wonder exactly what people are trying to say.

Comments are closed.