Arguments bring out the best in people?

I had the pleasure of having the dumbest argument of all time with my husband last weekend. It was so dumb that I can’t honestly tell you what it was about, but I can recall one statement he made in said argument. The statement caused me to take a step back and reevaluate myself. (Cause that’s what I do, I’m deep don’t be mad you ain’t got no depth to yo self)

He said, “You always say what you whatever to people, but no one can say what they want to you”. This I have heard before, a troll who shall remain nameless said this to my husband in reference to me, my brother has said it to me,one of my sister-in-laws, an ex-friend, my daughter, my half-sister, and one of my brother-in-laws.

You know the saying, it goes something like “if everyone is saying or believes the same thing, then it might be you”? Yeah, I think that saying is a bunch of bullshit and here’s why…

I think for the most part ALL of us get defensive when we feel someone is saying something we don’t like, it’s human nature. We get “in” our feelings and fail to see the possibility that the words we choose to take offense to might actually be what we need to hear.

So in hearing my husband say something that a bunch of other people have said to me in response to them not liking the “truth” as I see it. It actually didn’t bother me, because again he only made the statement in response to something I said that he didn’t like.

All of these people saying the same thing just makes me realize how fucking AWESOME I am! And that the “truth” as I see it hurts, especially when all you’re used to hearing is bullshit covered in lies, sprinkled with delusions of grandeur. I’m just saying I’m a realist and some people can’t handle what’s fucking real, too bad for you.

And furthermore, I’m wondering who are all these magical people that let me say whatever I want to them with no reciprocity? I’m not Holly Holm or Ronda Rousey; I’m not out here kicking people in the necks if they respond to something I’ve said. It’s all a bunch of malarkey if you ask me.

#immabemefolife

T

 

4 thoughts on “Arguments bring out the best in people?

  1. I love how you keep your sense of self during arguments… any time I’ve argued with people I’m close with, I’ve doubted myself so much. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way, lol – that the “majority” isn’t always right.

    1. If the majority was right, I’d look in the mirror and not recognize who I am, because I’d would’ve become who they think I should be. I’m good on that one.

      1. That’s true. I’ve tried many times to “fix” the discrepancies in myself that other people have sworn are there. One definitely begins to believe all the bs if entertained for too long. After many years of trying, I can only conclude that majorities are quite often wrong… there’s no way that everyone else knows who I am but me.

Comments are closed.