A Year in Review

2015goodbyesign-825x510

I have to say all in all 2015 was a pretty dope year for me, I lost about 20lbs of which 5 I gained back over the fourth quarter. (#kanyeshrug I like food a lot). I had some really fun adventures with my children and husband and I’m looking forward to many more.

I ended friendships that needed ending, they weren’t real to begin with I foolishly ignored the red flags.

I finally stopped trying to force a relationship with my mother on myself (I know that makes absolutely no sense at all, but it does if you’ve followed this blog throughout the year)

I had a mini-emotional break down, but worked through it with my support system aka hubby. And I feel stronger coming out of the other side of it.

I dedicated a lot of money and some time to causes that will help others, hopefully 2016 will be more giving, equal amounts of time and money.

My personal growth journey is an ongoing thing. Personal and spiritual enlightenment is one of the most important things to me. Most people don’t know this about me, because I don’t talk about it with anyone in depth except my husband; honestly he’s the only person in this world that understands me spiritually, we share the same ideals.

Growing as a mother and counselor to my kids is extremely important, I’m not the same mom I was a year ago, let alone five years ago. As my children grow, we grow with them, it just makes sense to me for us to grow together. They need us to be open minded and to see life through their eyes, to help guide them in the right direction. Fingers crossed, hopefully we’re doing the right thing as parents, but you never know. 🙂

I’ve become a better wife, sister, daughter and friend over the past year. Through some weird and hurtful confrontations, I’ve learned that not every attack is an attack against me, if that makes sense.

I’ve learned that people aren’t honest even when you ask them honest questions before anything bad happens.

I learned that I’m an “unconventional” woman (I have no idea what an unconventional woman is but evidently it’s me lol) and that being proud of being black equates to Afrocentrism. (which is weird because every other race can be proud and there is no label for them, but when black folks have any kind of pride and love for themselves it’s labeled, smh)

I’ve learned that my nontraditional ideals makes me a very annoying to people who love traditions even when the traditions make no sense. LOL

I’ve learned that given enough time, old wounds will NOT heal without closure. I don’t care what you tell yourself, if you don’t get closure either from within or the person/people who have caused you pain, those wounds will always reopen.

A fun thing I learned, is that I’m a social-introvert.

With all that said…I hope you all have learned from all of the happiness and sadness you’ve experienced over the past year. And here’s to a new year with new adventures, peace of mind, hope and plenty of love that will last you a five lifetimes.

T

3 thoughts on “A Year in Review

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a year full of personal growth, revelations, and awesome achievements. I agree, it really is great having a spouse who truly understands you, and wants to learn and grow with you! I hear that word a lot, “unconventional”. Apparently, if you’re true to yourself/ think for yourself in any way, you’re unconventional. I’ve noticed the same… I’m afraid to express pride in the black part of my heritage in front of certain people, because the resentment is palpable. I remember being told one time that one of my favorite black quotes, “If you are blessed to be black, you should be making history every day.” (by Donovan Bailey, Jamaican-Canadian Olympian) sounds hostile. I was made to feel guilty and ashamed. I agree on closure. It is never the victim’s responsibility to pretend everything’s okay.

    I think I’ve learned a lot this year, about myself and others. Clarity can sometimes be a tough gift to receive, but a gift nonetheless. Besides, not all of it was bad… much of it gave me a renewed sense of joy, gratitude, and inspiration.

    1. Joy, gratitude and inspiration all sound wonderful. Great things to come for us for sure as long as we stay true to who we are. Even if it makes others uncomfortable. 😉

Comments are closed.