Beasts of No Nation (No Spoilers)

mv5bmtywmzmzmdi0nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwndq3nji3nje-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

Beasts of No Nation, follows the journey of a young boy, Agu, who is forced to join a group of rebel soldiers in Nigeria.  Agu’s childhood has been brutally shattered by the war raging through his country, he struggles with faith, revenge and the ideology of revolution or at least what he is fed via his commanding officer played by Idris Elba. This movie depicts the mechanics and violence of war through the eyes of a child.

I totally understand the accolades Idris Elba is receiving for playing this role and they are well deserved, but honestly I think the child actors deserve all of the credit for bringing this movie to life.

I won’t go into details in this post in case many of you have not seen the movie, and believe me you should. Just know it’s worth the two hours and forty minutes, the story is beautifully told and engaging. It is super violent in case that’s something you aren’t into, other than that I’d say it’s a must see.

After you guys have seen the movie let’s discuss your thoughts in the comments section.

T

9 thoughts on “Beasts of No Nation (No Spoilers)

  1. I knew that Elba would be good, but I was astonished at the high level of acting by the children in this film! They were unbelievably awesome. I think my favorite lines in the whole movie were: ” If I’m telling this to you, you will think that I am some sort of beast… or devil. I am all of these things… but I also having mother, father, brother, and sister once. They loved me.” It both sums up the gravity of what Agu has lost, but also brings his humanity back into focus.

    1. Yes, it was amazing that after all of that he was in the end able to salvage his childhood. Ending with his joining the others playfully in the water was really beautiful.

      1. I’ll say. I love how they showed all wasn’t lost. It was also interesting how they didn’t use mood-dependent lighting, like many american films do. Instead of using lots of shadows or making the sky look darker whenever anything bad happens, they make it clear that nature is independent of what we do to each other as people. It ties in directly with what Agu said about wanting to put out the sun so it couldn’t shine on all of the atrocities being performed.

Comments are closed.