I’m Super Judgmental and Guess what I don’t care.

I’m Super Judgmental and Guess what I don’t care.

This isn’t something I’ve just recently realized, I’ve come to terms with my strong opinions i.e., judgmental ways a looooooooooooong time ago.

I have, just recently realized I’m not interested in practicing the art of not being strongly opinionated, having and expressing overly aggressive opinions, satirical unwanted opinions, basically  I’m annoying as shit to the people I love and hold dear to my heart.

Now I’m not walking up to strangers expressing my unwarranted opinions of them, that shit is rude, but I do feel obligated to express my opinions to my family and friends. Especially in cases where I feel my opinions are helpful/constructive; no I am not perfect and I hope that I don’t walk around like my “shit” doesn’t stink.

Isn’t the first step of recovery, admittance? Although, I’m not seeking recovery from my judgmental “problem”, I’m just trying to shed some light on it. Some people in my life have chosen to “cut” me out of their lives because the truth hurts and it’s easier to blame someone (me) for saying something “inappropriate” then to look in the mirror and see if there is any validity to what was said and do something about it.

A hit dog is going to howl (I don’t see how that saying is applicable here, I just wanted to write it.)

In the past I wrongfully accused my husband of being judgmental, because I was one of those people who didn’t like hearing the truth. What he said wasn’t coming from a hateful place it was coming from a “you need to get your shit together” or “you need to reevaluate the decisions you’ve made” place. And therein lies the problem most people, myself included don’t want to hear the “I told you so’s” when ultimately hearing it will help them in being more thoughtful in the decisions they make, IMO (wink, see what I did there).

If you want to keep it all the way “one hundred” (google it, I don’t have time to hip you to urban slang), if you don’t do stupid shit, that you know is stupid, essentially there will be nothing to be ashamed of. And if you decide to do stupid shit be prepared for your loved ones and not so loved ones to talk shit about you. It comes with the territory! There I go be all judgmental again…

T

3 thoughts on “I’m Super Judgmental and Guess what I don’t care.

  1. Lol, that’s true – a lot of people don’t want to hear the truth when it’s inconvenient or makes them feel less than perfect (myself included ^-^’). I’ve been inaccurately judged by many people, and I’m always afraid of doing that to others… but you’re right – it’s very hard not to judge someone when you see them doing something stupid. This reminds me of shopping with a particular friend I used to have… we couldn’t make it through even one store in the mall without her saying something vaguely (or not-so-vaguely) racist, and managing to insult every minority group ever. She’d get stares, or even asked to “please leave”, then get upset and ask me why it happened. When I’d explain to her, “I told you that you can’t say stuff like that!”, she’d respond, “You’re so judgmental!”… so, I stopped hanging out with her, and shortly there-after found out that she’d gotten herself arrested for stealing condoms (even though she was rich and didn’t need to steal). I didn’t want to judge her for that… but something inside of me was just thinking, “How could she be so stupid?”

    1. Lol, I think it’s impossible to judge others because we all have opinions. Now whether or not we should or should not express those opinions is a different story. Lol at least she was practicing safe sex or at least wanted to.

      1. That’s true. It really is impossible not to form opinions, and to then view the world (in part) through that lens – judgment does seem to be part of a basic set of survival skills that we learn. But yeah, lol, some opinions are left unvoiced.

        Lmao! True – I’m really glad that she was trying to be careful. I was taken aback when I found out that one boyfriend had convinced her not to use protection because he was “special”. I begged her to think about how that sounded.

Comments are closed.