What Do You Want to Be?

What Do You Want to Be?

I’ve seen so many posts on social media about “adulting” and success, it leads me to reminisce.

My third grade teacher Mr. Creedon (I think that’s how his name was spelled, its been a long time) asked us to write down what we wanted to be when we grew up. As an adult I look back and I remember a kid who was so bright eyed and exuberant; I wanted to be a doctor of course, because why not.

We’re taught at a young age that specific professions, would lead to a lucrative, successful and happy life.

Needless to say I didn’t become a doctor (couldn’t stomach it, I learned that in A&P dissecting a piglet) I don’t think I’m less successful, because I don’t hold a position of power. I’m not a “big deal” at my current company nor do I want to be. But most importantly I AM HAPPY, and after having tons of hardships and obstacles in my personal life I’ve realized that peace of mind and happiness outweigh, titles and salary.

Ever since I found my happiness, work and “being somebody” has become less important its so important that its not on my radar at all.

I’ve found inner peace, love and happiness with my family and that makes my goals extremely different from that third grader who wanted to be a doctor. Now my goals include, cooking a bomb ass meal that makes my kids say “thank you mommy that was sooo good,” making memories with them that I didn’t have growing up. Making sure that their level of happiness outweighs any stress or sadness that they could ever experience at this time in their lives. And being the best me that I can be in order to show them what one half of great parenting looks like.

I’m looking forward to things I never thought I’d be looking forward to, being an awesome grandmother and spoiling my grand babies (waaaaaaaay down the road). Growing old with my husband and experiencing that part of our journey together. When I was unhappy and thinking that happiness meant something else those things terrified me.

As cliche as it sounds I feel like happiness trumps everything, like the Mary J. Blige song “Be Happy” says “All I really want is to be happy…”.

I’ve found happiness and more there is really nothing more I can ask for. Surround yourself with people who make you happy not sad, imperfect or small. Things make you happy for a moment but loving yourself and others deserving of your love will make you happy for a lifetime.

What do you guys want to be?

T

 

5 thoughts on “What Do You Want to Be?

  1. This post is great, and so true! These days, the goal seems to be to look happy, rather than to be happy. It’s true though, I think happiness really does trump everything – nothing else matters if you can achieve that. I’d forgotten all about that Mary J. Blige song, it’s really good – (plus) I love the simplicity of the music video, and the cool tones in the color pallete they’ve chosen. I remember when our first grade teacher asked us what we wanted to be; we all got so excited about taking turns announcing our plans. When I said I wanted to be a fighter pilot or a race-car driver, a bunch of my classmates yelled, “You can’t, you’re a girl!” (even my female classmates). The teacher got mad and said, “She can do whatever she wants – you don’t drive a car with your dick.” I remember really appreciating that show of support. It reaffirmed for me that there was nothing wrong with going out and searching for your own happiness, and that no one has the right to stop you. My plans have changed too – now I want to be a scientist, and I rarely share that with people, because very few seem to understand why that would make anyone happy, lol ^-^’. But to each their own.

    1. Your teacher sounds awesome! Why wouldn’t it make you happy? If you said to me standing on the corner and singing to people makes me happy why question that? To each their own indeed, if you aren’t causing physical or emotional harm to yourself or others I say do you. 😄

      1. Lol, thanks! I’m glad you see it that way – yup, I’d love to help humanity through science. That’s true, as long as they’re not hurting anyone, people should be free to do what makes them happy. Lmao, yeah this particular teacher was pretty cool. She shocked the sh!t out of my suburban classmates when she said that!

Comments are closed.