TV: HBO’s – “The Night of” & Netflix’s “Stranger Things”

TV: HBO’s – “The Night of” & Netflix’s “Stranger Things”

Earlier this summer HBO premiered an M. Night Shyamalan original mini series “The Night of”, which follows the main character Nasir Khan as he’s arrested, convicted and placed on trial for the murder of a young woman he met after a night of partying . nightof02-590x219In eight episodes the show takes us on a journey into the complexities of the flawed and sometimes corrupt legal system, classism and xenophobia within the United States. I don’t want give away the show for those whom haven’t watched or are still catching up, but if you’re interested in this type of story it’s definitely worth the watch.

The second series I watched due to popular demand was original series presented by Netflix, “Stranger Things”, I’m late to the ballpark as far as this show is concerned because this show aired in July but I didn’t watch the series until late last month after the first season wrapped.

Stranger Things takes place “In a small town where everyone knows everyone, a peculiar incident starts a chain of events that leads to the disappearance of a child – which begins to tear at the fabric of an otherwise peaceful community. Dark government agencies and seemingly malevolent supernatural forces converge on the town, while a few locals begin to understand that there’s more going on than meets the eye.”  mv5bmjezmdaxotuymv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzaxmzyzote-_v1_This series is a fantastic mosh pit of “The Goonies”, and “E.T.” and I loved every moment of it (I watched the entire season in three days). I loved that the protagonist was a young girl #Girlpower. I’m still a little confused about a few things but I’m hoping season two will answer those questions. If you’re looking for an eighties throwback adventure/syfy story and you’re late to all things popular like me you should check this show out.

I must admit I love a good television show almost as much as a good book, I plan on watching “Insecure” another original HBO series created by and staring Issa Rae the creator of one of my favorite YouTube series “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl” (if you’ve never watched the show please do so it’s super hilarious), I think I’m going to check out FX’s “Atlanta” and Fox’s new series based off the movie “Lethal Weapon”, what are you guys watching? What should I be checking out that you guys are into? Let me know in the comments section below.

T

5 thoughts on “TV: HBO’s – “The Night of” & Netflix’s “Stranger Things”

  1. Omg, I LOVED “Stranger Things”! Loved the music (I really dig “creepy” synth tunes). Loved the female protagonist – it’s about time they have more roles for girls that are about them being people (with real backstories, real feelings, and real motivations, instead of no backstory, “girl feelings” and “girl motivations”). I haven’t seen any of the other series you mentioned, but I’ll definitely be starting with “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl” and “The Night Of”.

    I spent the summer catching up on two tv shows and two radio shows: “Bob’s Burgers” (which I’ve found to be insanely funny); “Fresh Hell” a Youtube sitcom with LeVar Burton (from Reading Rainbow and Star Trek) and Brent Spiner (also from Star Trek) – not as funny as “Bob’s Burgers”, but still funny; “Politically Reactive” with Kamau Bell and Hari Kondabolu – they have a wide variety of liberal political guests; and “StarTalk Radio” with Neil deGrasse Tyson and Bill Nye – very scientifically informative and funny, due to the plethora of comedians they bring on as co-hosts each episode. I’m really looking forward to the new season of the StarTalk tv show… it starts in a few days and the first guest is going to be Whoopi Goldberg.

Comments are closed.