A Seat at the Table – Solange Knowles

A Seat at the Table – Solange Knowles

What can I say that already hasn’t been said about this album?

It’s the blackest shit I’ve listened to since Kendrick Lamar’s “Alright”. The feeling I get when I hear “Alright” is of empowerment and inappropriateness while being unapologetically black.

It’s the lemonade album for black girls, “don’t touch my hair” clearly tells you this is an album for magical black and brown girls whose mane is naturally kinky coiled and coifed in a manner that stirs up a peculiar interest in white people who are magically lured by an invisible force with fingers out reaching to touch what should not be touched…

This album has everything in it that I wished Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams had, it’s colorful, alluring, and honest.

It’s an album that that “tips its hat” to everyone who has struggled with finding themselves and where they fit into a world that is unaccepting and unforgiving of differences with lyrics like, “I’m weary of the ways of the world, be weary of the ways of the world… be leery ’bout your place in the world, You’re feeling like your chasing the world, You’re leaving not a trace in the world, But you’re facing the world”.

If  you can’t relate, it ain’t for you. Keep it pushing there are plenty of musical choices out there for you to pick from.

My favorites are “Cranes in the sky”,  “F.U.B.U”, “Weary”, “Rise” and “Don’t touch my hair”. I also love the interludes, where Matthew Knowles, Tina Knowles-Lawson (Solange’s parents) and Master P are giving insight into their hardships, struggles, success and love for their culture and who they are.

Her first two albums were fun and full of self discovery, this album gives you a sneak peek into the mind of a grown woman who isn’t afraid of being loud, vulnerable and saying the things they most people are afraid to say in mixed company.

It’s a good ass album…and I’m enjoying the music, lyrics and story being told.

Have you guys listened to the album? What do you think? Let’s chat in the comments below.

T

2 thoughts on “A Seat at the Table – Solange Knowles

Comments are closed.