Culture & Respect

Culture & Respect

I think it says a lot about how you were raised, your level of intellect and your ability to respect what makes us different when you visit someones home or country and embrace their culture open heartedly.

I’m an American of African descent (I’m black), my culture is American, I’m proud of my heritage no matter how dark it can be at times. It is what it is. But I also love meeting and speaking to people who come from different countries. One thing my mother taught me that I’m proud of, is when you go to someone’s home and they offer you food, you try it. Its respectful to do so even if you don’t like it (but then again how do you know that you don’t like something if you’ve never tried it?), you show respect to your host by trying what they have humbly offered you. Unless it’s something they can potentially kill you of course.

I don’t get how someone can travel to a different country and not fully immerse themselves in the culture, especially the food. Food in my opinion is the universal language, to be fed by a stranger is a beautiful thing. In some countries food isn’t plentiful and to offered a seat at the table means that person/family is extending an olive branch to you as a friend and/or family. By turning down that offer you disrespect your host and your family.

I’m not an internationally traveled person (fear of flying is the culprit) but when I do come across people and places within this country that I can learn more from. I make sure I do so, because its the thing that breaks down walls, stereotypes and misconceptions. The more I talk to people, the more their opinions of black people and/or Americans change especially in the case that they have negative opinions of us.

We’re all children of the universe and should try our best to learn from one another and respect each other for our differences not further perpetuate hate and fear by pushing each other away because of those differences…

PEACE AND LOVE…

T

5 thoughts on “Culture & Respect

  1. This is so true – by interacting (respectfully and open-mindedly) with people from faraway places, there is so much to be gained/learned. Yeah, I think the thing I love most about meeting people from abroad is having misconceptions dispelled on both ends. Food definitely is a huge part of the heart of any culture! I love trying new foods from different places, and I try to clean my plate even when I don’t enjoy what I’ve been given. My family was invited to a Cambodian friend’s house blessing once, and I couldn’t wait to try the food (it was delicious). They flew a monk in from Cambodia to do the blessing, and I remember feeling bad for him – he had to leave before the lunch, because he wasn’t allowed to eat after noon. In college, I had a classmate who actually got to visit Japan (lucky!), saying that he couldn’t wait to try the “local cuisine”. He mostly went to McDonalds while he was there, and brought back tons of photos of himself eating there… facepalm.

      1. Lmao! Yes, that’s exactly what I thought… “what a waste.” When told he could get extra credit for Japanese class by writing about his trip, he wrote about eating at their McDonald’s.

Comments are closed.