Random Thoughts: Bad Bitches and Awkward Black Girls

Random Thoughts: Bad Bitches and Awkward Black Girls

On October 9, 2016, HBO premiered an original series “Insecure” starring and written by Issa Rae, if you’re an Issa Rae fan like I am you were introduced to her via her hit YouTube series “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl” also known as Awkward Black Girl (ABG). The series was loosely based on Rae’s experiences as you guessed it an awkward black girl as she navigates life. This post is not a review of either series, (even though I love love love both! I didn’t review Insecure because there seemed to be enough reviews on the interwebs to entertain you all.) this post is about the new trend of women (specially black women) now claiming to be awkward after watching the series or seeing interviews where Issa Rae shares stories of her sometimes awkward life even now as a she and her series has been nominated for various awards.

I don’t have a problem with people who are awkward, I think they are enduring highly intelligent people who overthink things that “normal” people don’t think twice about. I can’t imagine what that feels like to constantly overthink little nuances that should come naturally. I’m one of those people on the other end of the spectrum, who doesn’t put too much thought into my actions or words (I do and say what comes naturally to me #nofilter), which can get me into trouble at times.

My problem is people who are habitual bandwagon jumpers, just eight months ago, every other day you heard someone claiming to be a “bad bitch” now you awkward? GTFOH

I know awkward people, and in the history of their lives they’ve never uttered the words “bad bitch” in reference to themselves (unless they were imitating someone they saw on instagram or television). Awkward people don’t even like to talk about themselves and they know that they don’t fit into the mold of “normal”.

People are confusing being in awkward situations with being an awkward person and the two are completely different. Standing in an elevator with other people is a tasking experience for awkward people. If you get into an elevator and it’s second nature for you to smile or say hello to complete stranger, yo ass ain’t awkward.

What’s wrong with being content with just being regular? “Everybody” wanna be somebody that they aren’t because it’s on trend.

Just a few years ago being “basic” was a trend and then it was bad.

Do you!

Don’t pretend to be someone you aren’t, that’s never been cool and I think it’s safe to assume it never will be. We’re different for a reason, the world would be extremely boring if we all thought and acted alike. Our differences are what makes us special, it’s what brings us together.

What do you guys think? Have you noticed this weird onslaught of people (black women) claiming to be awkward? Does it grind your gears too? Let’s talk about it in the comments section.

T

3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts: Bad Bitches and Awkward Black Girls

  1. Yes, thank you! I find bandwagon jumpers to be a little more than irritating. I haven’t noticed a lot of people lately jumping onto this particular wagon (probably because I don’t know a lot of people watching Issa Rae’s shows… they don’t know what they’re missing!), but I believe it – the last time I had a lot of friends all watching a show where the main character was “awkward”, they were all suddenly walking around saying that they were awkward too… which is total bullsh!t, because awkward people aren’t generally known for their eagerness to tell you that they’re awkward, or for bragging about it. You’re right – it seems like every time a particular personality becomes fashionable, everyone wants to try it on like a costume, and you’re supposed to forget that they were a completely different person just last week. It really would be better if everyone just worked on being themselves, instead of living for the trend of the month.

    I remember the first time I noticed this phenomenon, and it confused the hell out of me. Back when that movie “The Lovely Bones” first came out, a female friend of mine suddenly changed her “favorite” color, her way of speaking/acting, and her whole wardrobe to match the film’s protagonist. She even went so far as to try and build her life around its story for a while (including trying to get a boyfriend to match the protagonist’s, and trying to relegate all of her friends to supporting roles she’d seen in the movie). Around the same time, a male friend of mine, who’d always been very proud (and very vocal) about being a “rational” and “unfeeling” manly-man, suddenly began claiming to be “the sensitive type” when his favorite show introduced a new character with that particular trait. I’ve tried to be understanding of people who do this, but it’s difficult to say the least.

    1. It’s something we’ll never be able to understand. I guess some people feel like they aren’t good enough as is, it’s weird funny and sad at the same time.

      1. Yeah, it’s both funny and a shame. I remember discussing it with a few people when I was younger, and they told me that it’s “natural”, and that I should try it. I did (for a day), and I didn’t like it. It just felt stupid, and I wanted to be myself again.

Comments are closed.